Butternut Squash Soup

IMG_6327

I’ve been making a lot of soup lately due to 1) the colder weather and 2) my desire to use my previously talked about new immersion blender as often as possible. It’s magical.

This is a very easy butternut squash soup that is filling and tasty and very flexible. I kept it very simple in terms of spices and the cream content, but you can add a ton of different things to a basic squash soup–I saw many variants of this online and in the reviews for the recipe.

IMG_6329

Depending on how smooth or chunky you like your soup to be, you can either blend it for a long time or just in short bursts. I didn’t leave any chunks in mine but it wasn’t liquid-smooth either.

Recipe (from here)
1 Butternut squash, about 2 pounds
2 tablespoons oil (I used grapeseed)
1 cup chopped onion
1 1/2 teaspoons chopped garlic
1/2 cup thinly sliced carrot
1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 tablespoon finely minced jalapeno pepper (I actually didn’t include this)
2 cups chicken stock (if you’re vegetarian you could switch to vegetable stock)
1/4 cup heavy cream

Cut the squash in half and scoop out the seeds. Peel the squash and cut into 1 inch pieces. In a large pot, heat oil over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and cook, stirring often, until they begin to brown, about 5 minutes.

Add the carrot, cumin, salt, and pepper. Cook for 1 minute, and then add squash, jalapeno pepper, and chicken stock. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 15- 20 minutes, or until the vegetables are tender. Remove from the heat and puree the soup using an immersion blender, or transfer to a blender or food processor. Return to the heat, add the cream and adjust the seasonings.

Seen in the upper left quarter of this photo is an uber fancy cheese plate that my friends gave me for my birthday! To the right is an apple and brussel sprouts dish that turned out badly and that I won't be writing about
Seen in the upper left quarter of this photo is an uber fancy cheese plate that my friends gave me for my birthday! To the right is an apple and brussel sprouts dish that turned out badly and that I won’t be writing about
Leave a Reply

