Blueberry Pie

Summertime is pie time.

I’m on a continuous quest to find the perfect pie crust recipe. Unfortunately I didn’t have any butter when I was making this pie, so I went with a vegetable oil recipe. This one turned out okay, and it would have turned out better had I not overbaked the pie by about 3-5 minutes. I’m going to try it again (probably this week) but as of now, the verdict is still out.

The reason I’m not waiting until I re-do this recipe to post about it is because I’m really excited about Boyfriend’s new camera, which is about 5,483,304 times better than my iPhone camera. I think it’s going to be the ticket to getting a million subscribers, some advertisers, and a book deal. It’s only a matter of time. Take a look:

IMG_0018New York Times bestseller list, here I come!!!

Pie Crust (Adapted from here)
2.5 cups flour
1 tsp salt
0.5 cups milk
0.5 cups oil (I used vegetable, you could use any kind of oil I presume, even olive)

Sift together flour and salt, then pour in milk and oil. Combine until mixture forms together, and divide into 2 equal lumps. Wrap in plastic wrap (I didn’t have any saran wrap, so I put them in an air-tight tupperware) and refrigerate for a bit. I left them in the fridge for about 45 minutes. After dough has chilled, roll out and make sure the crusts are large enough by hovering your pie plate (I used a 9-inch pyrex) over it and checking to make sure the dough overlaps the edge of the plate by 0.5-1 inch. Put one of the rolled-out crusts in the pie plate. I cut the other one in strips to make a lattice pie crust, using these instructions.

Pie Filling (Adapted from here)
About 5-6 cups of blueberries (I used 2 plastic cartons of blueberries from my grocery store)
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp salt
1/4 cup corn starch (I didn’t have corn starch so I used potato starch)
1 tbsp butter, cut into small pieces

Mix together all of the filling ingredients, then pour into prepared crust in the pie plate. Cover with lattice topping, then dot small pats of butter into the exposed blueberry spaces. The original recipe called for 20 minutes at 400 degrees, then 35-40 minutes at 350, but by the time I checked my time at 35 minutes of total baking time, it was too brown! This is probably more of a problem with my crappy rented apartment oven than anything. Keep an eye on it.

IMG_0011

IMG_0023

I think my version of this pie still has some tweaking left in it–I was missing a lot of the ingredients from the original recipe, so that might be why my version just didn’t wow me. I’ll probably try this one again. You can see from my photos that the crust is a bit too brown from overbaking. Even so, it was still juicy, summery, and tart, which is basically all you need from a summer pie.

 

One thought on “Blueberry Pie

Leave a Reply

