Radish Pizza with Feta, Parmesan, and Mozzarella

I had a bunch of leftover radish from a soup made earlier last week, and wasn’t too sure what to do with them. I’m not sure how I got the idea of putting them on pizza, but pizza is easy, quick, and a great leftover lunch the next day–googling “radish pizza” came up with this, this, and this, so I knew at least that it wouldn’t be absolutely disgusting.

Modifying/combining what I read online, I came up with this: a whole-wheat crust topped with olive oil & garlic, feta, parmesan, mozzarella, and thinly sliced (as thin as I could get them with my dull knife, at least) radishes. A lot of the recipes I linked had some kind of green or light salad tossed on the pizza, but I opted to put my green stuff on the side.

Whole wheat dough, shaped and ready to rise:

photo1

The recipe I used for dough actually doesn’t require any rising, but I let it sit for about 20-30 minutes away, and it got nice and puffy and was very easy to roll out on my Silpat.

photo2

If you have a mandolin (lucky you), you could use that to slice the radishes paper-thin, but unevenly-sliced radishes ended up okay too. I should have named this blog “poor recent graduate cooks with basic kitchen implements” instead. But the yellow spatula was mildly cuter, and I love spatulas.

photo3

The radishes were slightly sweet and juicy out of the oven. I just topped the spinach with cranberries, olive oil, and balsamic vinegar for a very, very simple salad.

Pizza Crust (adapted from here):
1 package active dry yeast
1 cup warm water
1 tsp sugar
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp salt
2.5-ish cups of flour (I used 1 cup whole wheat, 1 cup of all-purpose, and more all-purpose until the dough felt “right” to me).

Toppings
tbsp olive oil mixed with 1-2 tsps minced garlic
6-7 thinly sliced radishes
1/4 cup mozzarella cheese
1/4 cup feta cheese
1/4 cup parmesan
salt and pepper

Verdict: Ehhhhh. Not a very auspicious start to a cooking/food blog, but this pizza was “a bit bland,” stated Boyfriend, a little sheepishly, but he’s biased because radish + feta is a real leap away from his usual heavy-handed diet of meat, pasta, and tex-mex tacos. I should have sprung for better cheese (or at least used a cheese with more bite); mozzarella was a poor choice. It was still good heated up in the microwave the next day for lunch though.

 

4 thoughts on “Radish Pizza with Feta, Parmesan, and Mozzarella

  1. looks delicious! I always struggle with radishes. I buy them at the farmers market because they are cute (those easter egg ones get me every time), and then when I get home I realize that I’m just not going to eat enough salads to use all those radishes.

    • Wow! I literally created this blog 10 minutes ago and this is my first post. Thanks for the comment! It’s very encouraging. And thanks for your original recipe (with much prettier pictures than mine).

Leave a Reply

